

Interagency Grizzly Bear Committee Winter Business Meeting, December 17-19, 2024

Bozeman Public Safety Center Community Room, 901 N Rouse Ave, Bozeman, MT

MS TEAMS LINK DAY 1 / MS TEAMS LINK DAY 2

Tuesday, December 17: PUBLIC SESSION		
2:00PM	Introductions and Agenda Review	Jim Fredericks, IGBC Chair David Diamond, IGBC Coordinator
2:15PM	Agency Updates PURPOSE: Share agency updates that colleagues need to know. OUTCOME: Preparation for 2025 Planning.	IGBC Executive Committee Members: USFWS, MT, WY, ID, WA, BC, AB, USFS, NPS, BLM, USGS
3:15PM	Science Subcommittee Report PURPOSE: Share status, accomplishments, and other news from the Science team leads. OUTCOME: Awareness for IGBC executives, and guidance for 2025 activities.	Frank van Manen, USGS
3:45PM	BREAK	
4:00PM	Information, Education, and Outreach Subcommittee Update PURPOSE: Share recent accomplishments and other news from the IEO Subcommittee. OUTCOME: Awareness for IGBC executives and guidance for 2025 activities.	Lori Roberts, IEO Chair, MTFWP
4:30PM	Public Comment	
4:45PM	Recap, Logistics, and Special Recognition	Jim Fredericks, IGBC Chair
5:00PM	ADJOURN	

Wednesday, December 18: EXECUTIVE SESSION 8:30-11AM		
8:30AM		Jim Fredericks, IGBC Chair

Wednesday, December 18: PUBLIC SESSION		
1:00PM	Welcome and Introductions	Jim Fredericks, IGBC Chair
1:10PM	Bear-Resistant Product Testing Program Update PURPOSE: Update executives on program issues from the IGBC's product testing program. OUTCOME: OUTCOME: Awareness for IGBC executives and guidance for 2025 activities.	Scott Jackson, IGBC Advisor, USFS
1:40PM	Ecosystem Subcommittee Updates PURPOSE: Share new and significant accomplishments and other news from the Subcommittees. OUTCOME: OUTCOME: Awareness for IGBC executives and guidance for 2025 activities.	 Yellowstone Ecosystem, Mary D'Aversa, BLM Northern Continental Ecosystem, Lee Anderson, MTFWP Selkirks & Cabinet-Yaak Ecosystems, Mike Kuttel, WDFW Bitterroot Ecosystem, Sandi Fisher, USFWS North Cascades Ecosystem, Subhadeep Bhattacharjee, WDFW
2:40PM	BREAK	
2:55PM	IDFG Law Enforcement presentation PURPOSE: Share a law enforcement perspective. OUTCOME: Awareness for IGBC executives.	Barry Cummings, IDFG Regional Conservation Officer
3:10PM	Partner Talk: Conflict Reduction Opportunities and Program Status PURPOSE: Share a report on conflict reduction grant programs in Montana. OUTCOME: Awareness for IGBC executives.	Nate Owens, Heart of the Rockies
3:30PM	Partner Recognition: Greater Yellowstone Coalition US Forest Service Campground Infrastructure PURPOSE: Recognize the successful and sustained partnership. OUTCOME: Awareness for IGBC executives.	Dan Tyers, USFS GYE Habitat Coordinator
4:10PM	 IGBC Business Guidance for Subcommittees Discussion and Guidance for Working Groups Selection of Next Vice Chair (WA, WY, or MT) Dates and locations for 2025 meetings 	IGBC Executives

5:00PM	Public Comment	Members of the Public
5:15PM	Recap and Chair Succession	Jim Fredericks, IGBC Chair; Jennifer Carpenter, IGBC Vice Chair
5:30PM	ADJOURN	

	Thursday, December 19: EXECUTIVE	SESSION 8:30-11AM
8:30AM		Jim Fredericks, IGBC Chair

	IGBC EXPECTED ATTENDANCE	
ID	• Jim Fredericks, Director, IDFG (IGBC Chair)	
MT	Quentin Kujala, Chief of Conservation Policy, MTFWP	
WA	Subhadeep Bhattacharjee, Wolf and Grizzly Bear Policy Lead, WDFW	
WY	●TBD, WYGF	
USFS	●Ben South, Deputy Regional Forester, R1	
	Andrea Delgado, Deputy Regional Forester, R2	
	Mary Farnsworth, Regional Forester, R4	
	• Jacque Buchanan, Regional Forester, R6	
NPS	Jennifer Carpenter, Intermountain Region (IGBC Vice-Chair)	
	●Don Striker, Pacific West Region	
USFWS	 ■Matt Hogan, Regional Director, Mountain-Prairie Region, R6 	
	●Hugh Morrison, Regional Director, Pacific Region, R1	
BLM	Amy Waring, Montana / Dakotas State Office	
USGS	■ Claudia Regan, NOROCK	
Canada	Paul Frame, Alberta Environment and Parks	
	• Michael Burwash, Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations	
	and Rural Development, BC	
IGBC	Sandi Fisher, Bitterroot Ecosystem Subcommittee, USFWS	
Subcommittee	•Subhadeep Bhattacharjee (for Brendan Brokes), North Cascades	
Chairs	Ecosystem Subcommittee, WDFW	
	•Lee Anderson, Northern Continental Divide Ecosystem Subcommittee,	
	MTFWP	
	Mike Kuttel, Selkirk/Cabinet-Yaak Ecosystem Subcommittee, WDFW	
	Mary D'Aversa, Yellowstone Ecosystem Subcommittee, BLM	
IGBC Coord.	David Diamond, IGBC	
IGBC	Hilary Cooley, USFWS	
Advisors	Scott Jackson, USFS	
	•Lori Roberts, I&E Chair, MTFWP	
	Frank T. van Manen, USGS	