Photo credit Frank T. van Manen/IGBST

NOTICE: The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s June 30, 2017 final rule delisting the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem grizzly bear population was vacated and remanded by the court on September 24, 2018. Therefore, grizzly bears throughout the lower 48 States are listed as threatened except where designated as an experimental population. For more information, visit the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Grizzly Bear Recovery page.

Yellowstone Ecosystem Subcommittee Membership

  • Tricia O’Conner (Chair) Bridger Teton National Forest, Jackson, WY
  • Mike Volesky Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks, Helena, MT
  • Kim Liebhauser BLM-Wyoming, Cody, WY
  • Melany Gossa Beaverhead Deerlodge National Forest, Dillon, MT
  • Derek Ibarguen Caribou-Targhee National Forest, Idaho Falls, ID
  • Lee Miller Idaho Association of Counties
  • Lisa Timchak Shoshone National Forest, Cody, WY
  • David Vela Grand Teton National Park Jackson, WY
  • Dan Wenk Yellowstone National Park, Yellowstone Nat’l Park, WY
  • Jim White Idaho Dept of Fish and Game, Idaho Falls, ID
  • Brian Nesvik Wyoming Dept of Game and Fish, Cheyenne, WY
  • Tom Rice Montana Association of Counties, Beaverhead County, Dillon, MT
  • Lee Livingston Wyoming Park County Commission, Cody, WY
  • Leander Watson Shoshone Bannock Tribes, Fort Hall, ID
  • Mary Erickson Custer-Gallatin National Forest, Bozeman MT
  • Rick Hotaling BLM – Montana Dillon, MT
  • Mary D’Aversa BLMIdaho Falls, ID

Information, Education & Outreach Subcommittee

  • Danielle Oyler (Chair) Wildlife Management Institute 
  • Morgan Warthin Yellowstone National Park
  • Dustin Lasseter Wyoming Game and Fish Department
  • Denise Germann Grand Teton National Park
  • Kimberly Johnston People and Carnivores
  • Laurie Wolf Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks
  • Kylie Kembel Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks


  • Dan Tyers USFS Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem Grizzly Bear Mgmt Coordinator, Bozeman, MT
  • Frank van Manen Interagency Grizzly Bear Study Team, Bozeman, MT
  • Hilary Cooley USFWS Liaison
  • Kelsie Dougherty Administrative Coordinator, Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks, Bozeman, MT

Subcommittee Meetings

Refer to the Meeting Calendar for upcoming meeting information.

Meeting Summaries

Yellowstone Ecosystem Subcommittee (2018-2019)

Yellowstone Grizzly Coordinating Committee (2017-2018)

Yellowstone Ecosystem Subcommittee (2016-2017)

Policy and Research Reports

Final Signed Conservation Strategy

NEPA Documents



The Interagency Grizzly Bear Study Team (IGBST) is an interdisciplinary group of scientists and biologists responsible for long-term monitoring and research efforts on grizzly bears in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem (GYE). The full list of their publications can be found on the IGBST website.

Yellowstone Ecosystem Description